Émile Parisien

Hear Palmer, 10th edition

A chance to present a new, original format, with not one, but three concerts.

The philosophy of the event remains unaltered. An artist is invited to express his vision, his understanding and his emotions about the new vintage of Château Palmer – he becomes its voice. This year, it’s the saxophonist Émile Parisien who has been chosen to recount in music the 2018 vintage. Emile is well acquainted with the estate having already had the chance to participate in an edition of Hear Palmer alongside Daniel Humair, who unveiled the 2013 vintage. Five years later, we have given him carte blanche to imagine and present a programme of three concerts. He will surround himself with talented jazzmen, bringing them together in three symbolic locations…

  • 29th March 2019 at Château PalmerDuo Metanuits, Émile Parisien & Roberto Negro (private concert) –La révélation
  • 30th March 2019 at Le Rocher de Palmer, at 20:30, Émile Parisien Sfumato & his friends – L’assemblage
  • 31st March 2019 at the Cité du Vin, 18:00, Carte blanche to Émile Parisien – La finale

 

Émile Parisien in a few words…

Born in 1982 in Cahors, in the south of France, this brilliant saxophonist enrolled at just 11 years old in the Collège Marciac school of jazz, where he learned from such established musicians as Pierre Boussaguet, Guy Laffitte and Tonton Salut. He would also have the chance to meet leading figures in jazz, including Wynton Marsalis, Chris McBride, Johnny Griffin and Bobby Hutcherson, who invited him to perform with them during the festival Jazz in Marciac.

In 1996, he continued his education at the Conservatoire de Toulouse, where he studied classical and contemporary music, notably with Philippe Lecoq. In 2000, Émile Parisien moved to Paris. Since then, he has performed in France and abroad with, among others, Daniel Humair, Michel Portal, Jean-Paul Celea, Jacky Terrasson, Claude Tchamitchian, Yaron Herman, Roberto Negro, Louis Sclavis, Jeff Mills…

In 2004, he affirmed his artistic identity by founding the Émile Parisien Quartet with Julien Touery, Sylvain Darrifourcq and Ivan Gélugne. Inspired by composers of the 20th century such as John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter or Ornette Coleman, the quartet infuses their music with an expressionist character, taking improvisation as their guiding principle. Pushing the boundaries of the concrete, the group achieves, thanks to a deep complicity between the musicians, a very personal and resolutely modern form of expression.

It was as players in the Daniel Humair quartet that Vincent Peirani and Émile Parisien first met. They came together as a duo for the first time at the festival A Vaulx Jazz in 2013. The duo has since become immensely successful, in France and abroad, and the two are now hardly ever apart. They notably play together as well in saxophonist’s quintet Sfumato, first formed in 2015 with Joachim Kühn during the festival Jazz in Marciac.

Émile Parisien once again showcased his modernity and originality with the release of his quartet’s new album, Double Screening, on 25 January 2019.

“A promising instrumentalist from an early age, Émile Parisien has established himself, at 33 years old, as one of the most brilliant European saxophonists of his generation.”

Rolling Stone, November 2016

His music

The musical influences of Émile Parisien are rooted in the French jazz tradition, to which is added the compositional layering of contemporary music, and the melodic and harmonious abstraction of free jazz. With Émile Parisien, nothing is calculated or forced: the features of different musical genres blend cheerfully, without prejudice or preconceptions. The result is a passionate, multi-faceted brand of music, at once provocative and anarchic, but also stirring and swinging. His authenticity and sincerity is reflected in every note. Awards have come naturally: Parisien was named artist of the year by France’s two most important jazz awards, the “Prix Django Reinhardt 2012” and the “Victoires du Jazz 2014”. In Germany he received the ECHO Jazz 2015 award in the “Best International Ensemble” category for his duo with Vincent Peirani.

“The Émile Parisien Quintet, Sfumato. He is one of those musicians whose talent is as obvious to see as it is to be heard. To watch Émile Parisien blowing in his soprano while pumping his elbows and his legs, then swaying his torso like a mast tossing in a storm, the visceral character of his lyricism becomes undeniable.” 

Les inrocks, November 2016

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Émile Parisien

Hear Palmer, 10ème édition

L’occasion de proposer un format inédit et différent, avec non pas un, mais trois concerts.

La philosophie de l’événement reste inchangée. Un artiste est invité à exprimer sa vision, sa compréhension et ses émotions autour du nouveau millésime de Château Palmer, il en devient le parrain. Cette année, c’est le saxophoniste Émile Parisien qui a été choisi pour raconter en musique le millésime 2018. Émile connaît bien la propriété car il a déjà eu l’occasion de participer à une édition de Hear Palmer aux côtés de Daniel Humair, lors de la révélation du millésime 2013. 5 ans plus tard, nous lui donnons carte blanche pour imaginer et proposer la programmation de ces 3 concerts. Il s’entourera de talentueux jazzmen qu’il réunira dans 3 lieux symboliques…

  • Le 29 mars 2019 à Château PalmerDuo Metanuits, Émile Parisien & Roberto Negro (concert privé) – La révélation
  • Le 30 mars au Rocher de Palmer, à 20h30, Émile Parisien Sfumato & ses amis – L’assemblage
  • Le 31 mars à la Cité du Vin, à 18h, Carte blanche à Émile Parisien – La finale

Émile Parisien en quelques mots…

Né en 1982 à Cahors, dans le sud de la France, ce grand saxophoniste intègre dès l’âge de 11 ans la première promotion du collège Jazz de Marciac, où il apprend la musique auprès de musiciens confirmés comme Pierre Boussaguet, Guy Laffitte et Tonton Salut. Il a alors la chance de côtoyer de grandes figures du jazz : Wynton Marsalis, Chris McBride, Johnny Griffin ou Bobby Hutcherson, qui lui donnent l’occasion de se produire à leurs côtés au festival de Marciac. 

En 1996, il approfondit cet enseignement au Conservatoire de Toulouse, où il étudie la musique classique et contemporaine, avec notamment Philippe Lecoq. En 2000, Émile Parisien s’installe à Paris. Depuis, il se produit en France et à l’étranger avec, entre autres, Daniel Humair, Michel Portal, Jean-Paul Celea, Jacky Terrasson, Claude Tchamitchian, Yaron Herman, Roberto Negro, Louis Sclavis, Jeff Mills … 

En 2004, il affirme son identité artistique en fondant avec Julien Touery, Sylvain Darrifourcq et Ivan Gélugne le Émile Parisien Quartet. Inspiré par les compositeurs du 20ème siècle comme John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter ou Ornette Coleman, ce quartet donne un caractère expressionniste à sa musique, où prime l’improvisation. Repoussant les limites du concret, le groupe atteint, grâce à la complicité des musiciens, une expression très personnelle et résolument moderne. 

C’est au sein du quartet de Daniel Humair que Vincent Peirani et Émile Parisien se rencontrent. Ils ouvrent ensemble pour la première fois une nouvelle page musicale en duo au festival A Vaulx Jazz en 2013. Depuis, outre le duo qui connaît un immense succès, en France comme à l’étranger, ils ne se sont plus quittés. lls se retrouvent notamment dans le quintet du saxophoniste « Sfumato », formé avec Joachim Kühn lors du festival Jazz in Marciac en 2015.

Émile Parisien fait une fois de plus preuve de modernité et d’inventivité avec la sortie de son nouvel album en quartet, “Double Screening” le 25 janvier 2019.

«  Instrumentiste prometteur dès le plus jeune âge, Émile Parisien s’impose, à 33 ans, comme un des saxophonistes européens parmi les plus brillants de sa génération »

Rolling Stone, novembre 2016

Sa musique

Les influences musicales d’Émile Parisien prennent racine dans la tradition du jazz français, à laquelle s’ajoute un travail de composition que l’on retrouve dans la musique contemporaine, et une abstraction mélodique et harmonique propre au Free Jazz. Avec Émile Parisien, rien n’est calculé ou forcé : les spécificités de ces genres musicaux se mélangent allègrement et sans concept préconçu. Le résultat est une musique passionnée aux nombreuses facettes, à la fois provocante et anarchique, mais aussi entraînante et swingante. Son authenticité et honnêteté transparaissent à chaque note. Les premières distinctions ne tardent pas : Émile Parisien se voit décerner le prix d’ « Artiste de l’année » par le Prix Django Reinhardt 2012 et par les Victoires du Jazz 2014, les deux récompenses françaises les plus prestigieuses. En Allemagne, il reçoit l’ECHO Jazz 2015 dans la catégorie « Meilleur ensemble international » avec Vincent Peirani. 

 Émile Parisien Quintet, Sfumato. Il est des talents qui sautent aux yeux en même temps qu’aux oreilles. À voir Émile Parisien souffler dans son soprano en levant les coudes et les jambes, puis faire osciller son torse comme un mât pris dans une bourrasque, le caractère viscéral de son lyrisme ne fait pas de doute. »

Les inrocks, 10 albums de jazz français à écouter d’urgence, novembre 2016

Share
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!